Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Dave Martone / Glen Drover - "Live At Metalworks"

On September 10, Magna Carta will release DAVE MARTONE / GLEN DROVER's "Live At Metalworks" as an audio CD with bonus DVD.

"Live At Metalworks" captures audio/video performances by Martone andDrover which were streamed live over the internet on September 25, 2011. This show was viewed by over 25,000 people in over 63 countries around the World.
Dave Martone (a true modern guitar hero) performs with his band on such guitar virtuouso tracks as “The Goodie Squiggee Song” and “Dinky Pinky” from Martone’s Magna Carta debut, “Clean” (MA-90972). Other highlights of Martone's set include a cover of Charlie Daniels Band’s “The Devil Went Down To Georgia”. Another special moment occurs when Martone brings Glen Drover on stage for an encore version of Joe Satriani’s “Crush Of Love”.
Glen Drover (best known for his work in Megadeth) performs with his band (which includes Saga keyboardist, Jim Gilmour) on a version of Frank Zappa’s “Filthy Habits” as well as “Colors Of Infinity” and “Ascension” from Glen’s Magna Carta debut, “Metalusion” (MA-91082). Drover brings Dave Martone back on stage for an encore version of Megadeth’s “Symphony Of Destruction” with Glen on vocals.
• Dave Martone - Guitar and Vocals
• David Spidel - Bass
• Gary Grace - Drums

• Glen Drover - Guitar and Vocals
• Jim Gilmour - Keyboards
• Paul Yee - Bass
• Chris Sutherland- Drums
CD Details
Dave Martone
1) The Goodie Squiggee Song
2) Bossa Dorado
3) Angel Fish
4) The Devil Went Down To Georgia
5) Got Da Blues
6) Dinky Pinky
7) Crush Of Love (with Glen Drover)

Glen Drover
8) Frozen Dream
9) Illusions Of Starlight
10) Colors Of Infinity
11) Filthy Habits
12) Ascension
13) Ground Zero
14) Symphony Of Destruction (with Dave Martone)

Bonus Songs From Each Artist Exclusively on the DVD

Dave Martone
1) The Goodie Squiggee Song
2) Bossa Dorado
3) Angel Fish
4) The Devil Went Down To Georgia
5) Got Da Blues
6) Dinky Pinky
7) Crush Of Love (with Glen Drover)

Bonus Tracks:
8) Attack Of The Celery Crunchers (Martone)
9) Playing Between The Molecules Of Time (Martone)
10) Tone Of Darkness (Martone)

Glen Drover
1) Frozen Dream
2) Illusions Of Starlight
3) Don’t Let The World Pass You By
4) Colors Of Infinity
5) Filthy Habits
6) Ascension
7) Ground Zero
8) Symphony Of Destruction (with Dave Martone)

Bonus Track
9) Mirage

Bonus Backstage Footage

"Live At Metalworks" sound samples and ordering info:


Friday, August 16, 2013

Attention Deficit - "The Idiot King" review

Attention Deficit - "The Idiot King"

Attention Deficit is:
• Alex Skolnick - guitars • Michael Manring - bass • Tim Alexander - drums

Listen to Sound Samples:
Attention Deficit on Magna Carta

In their sophomore effort "The Idiot King", Attention Deficit created a more elaborated repertoire than the one comprised in their debut album, which was mostly devoted to the articulation and expansion of various jams. Since there's a major dose of creativity in the writing process, the variety in the musical ideas and rhythmic variations has allowed the trio to generate a more focused power within the stylistic confines inherent to its trio format. Jamming, there is much of it here, too, but generally speaking, this is a more composed album. The shocking aspect of the first album may seem a bit less impressive because "The Idiot King" bears a less urgent feel, but as I said earlier, the energy is not diminished but refurbished in a more focused fashion.

'American Jingo' starts with a ¾ motif in which playfulness and tension state a sense of aggressiveness, latent most of the time. 'Any Unforeseen Event' finds the band exploring more relaxing ambiences, under what I feel is the elegant facet of classic Holdsworth. Since it lasts only 3 minutes, I believe it is too short to properly explore its full potential. A special mention goes to Manring's amazing bass lines stuck somewhere in the middle-. The Holdsworth reference becomes more explicit in 'RSVP' (a personal highlight from this album) and 'Dubya', pieces that go headlong for the dense side of your typical jazz-rock power trio sound, even forming adequate expansions.

Things turn closer to the funky side of things with 'The Risk of Failure', a piece that includes certain Crimsonian trends, especially in some phrases by Skolnick: drummer Tim Alexander shines here with particular brilliancy. A second portion finds the band moving to jazzier structures, with Skolnick showing off his skills and melodic sensibility equally. 'Unclear, Inarticulate Things' is one definitive showcase for Manring's proficiency: Michael uses his prowess to state a precise rhythmic cadence and a solid set of skilful phrases, forcing Skolnick to indulge in some guitar pyrotechnics. The use of mutual challenging in a power trio context is creatively convenient when you have musicians totally committed to each other as these three are. 'The Killers Are to Blame' is the sickest piece in the album, with those combined guitar and bass soundscapes flowing as reckless purveyors of tension, while Alexander goes on forging and recreating the track's rhythmic structure with his fantastic rolls: disturbing and captivating, here is another highlight. Tension remains, reconsidered under a metallic view, in the exciting 'Nightmare on 48th St.', an ominous exercise on electric wildness that shows a mixture of classic Primus, 90s KC and LTE.

All in all, Attention Deficit did a similar thing than Bozzio Levin Stevens: after a first album based on the urgency of initial mutual approximations, a second album came afterwards with a more focused attitude while preserving much of the previous fire. "The Idiot King" is an excellent testament of Skolnick, Manring and Alexander as a well- oiled unit of avant-garde jazz-rock. Thank you, guys!!

Review by Cesar Inca on http://www.progarchives.com  

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

OHMphrey - Posthaste review

OHMphrey is:
• Chris Poland - guitars • Robertino Pagliari - bass • Jake Cinninger - guitars • Joel Cummins - keyboards • Kris Myers - drums

"Featuring Umphrey’s McGee’s Jake Cinninger, Joel Cummins, and Kris Myers alongside guitarist Chris Poland (Megadeth) and bassist Robertino “Pag” Pagliari, the album evokes reminiscence of heavier, funk laden fusion material ala Jeff Beck and Attention Deficit.

The wealth of talent among OHMphrey’s members is undeniable. Jam fans will surely enjoy the instrumental acrobatics on display, especially within the last two tracks which were recorded live in 2009 and collectively contain thirty-plus minutes of improvisational exploration. Cinninger’s stellar guitar work reflects his jazz and progressive metal influences and is worth the listen alone."

- SoundFuse

OHMphrey on Magna Carta